You are here

Region 2


We are a church that believes God is calling us into the world — together. In the ELCA, our 65 synods are grouped into nine regions, which are points of connection for us and the churchwide organization. The Rocky Mountain Synod is one of five synods in Region 2. Together, we collaborate in the areas of First Call Theological Education, Mobility, Campus Ministry, and a Word & Service (Deacon) Network. 


Region 2 Territory

Synods and Bishops of Region 2

2A Sierra Pacific Synod
Bishop Mark W. Holmerud

P.O. Box 276648
Sacramento CA 95827 
Sacramento Area (916-756-1665)
Bay Area (650-590-0980)
Fresno Area (559-345-2725)


2B - Southwest California
Interim Bishop Murray Fink

1300 E. Colorado Street
Glendale, CA 91205


2C Pacifica Synod
Bishop Andrew A. Taylor

1801-C Parkcourt Place
Santa Ana, CA 92701


2D Grand Canyon Synod
Bishop Deborah Hutterer
7227 N. 16th Street, Suite 260
Phoenix, AZ 85020


2E Rocky Mountain Synod
Bishop James Gonia

7375 Samuel Drive
303-777-6700 / 800-525-0462 
Denver, CO 80221